Review: The Heir, by Kiera Cass

Back again with a new review about The Heir by Kiera Cass. I don’t know if you have read the rest of the series, but I’d better start by explaining this is the last part. Well, maybe there will be another, but that’s not the point right now. This book is a part of the Selection series, which are also good, but in my opinion not as good as the last book. I really loved reading this book, when on the other hand I sometimes didn’t enjoyed the other books. This last book is about the daughter of the protagonists. If you haven’t read the first three parts of the series, but where planning on reading it, I’d suggest that you don’t read the rest, for it is full of spoilers. Okay, now I can continue. The book is about the child of king Maxon and queen America (I’m not kidding, that’s her name. Me and my friends laughed so much!). The story sets in an future world, where there has been a World War 3 and even 4. The US is now named Ilea, and is an monarchy. Before I explain everything, I’ll just show you the recap. Much easier for me ;).

Princess Eadlyn has grown up hearing endless stories about how her mother and father met. Twenty years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won the heart of Prince Maxon—and they lived happily ever after. Eadlyn has always found their fairy-tale story romantic, but she has no interest in trying to repeat it. If it were up to her, she’d put off marriage for as long as possible.

But a princess’s life is never entirely her own, and Eadlyn can’t escape her very own Selection—no matter how fervently she protests.

Eadlyn doesn’t expect her story to end in romance. But as the competition begins, one entry may just capture Eadlyn’s heart, showing her all the possibilities that lie in front of her . . . and proving that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

I liked this story, despite the super predictable story line (I knew almost exactly what was going to happen), because it is pretty funny. Here, I’ll show you one of the funniest parts. So she has a twin brother, and here is a piece of their conversation:

“Looking good, sis. Practically bridal.”

I swung my skirt and sat down gracefully. “One more word, and I will shave your head in your sleep”

“Love you too.”

I just really had to laugh about that, because it reminded me of how my brothers and I threat each other. Well, that’s it I guess. Leave a comment if you’d like, and I’ll write to you soon. Bye!

Leave a Reply

